Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Popovers

I love popovers! I think I’d only made them once before this month’s Sourdough Surprises task. Now they are my new favorite way to quickly use some sourdough.

I started by making The Gingered Whisk’s Sourdough Cheesy Popovers, following the recipe exactly. Beginner’s luck? The perfect recipe? I’m banking on the latter. I trusted the recipe even when I was concerned that the temperature was too high and they were baking for too long. Good call. I don’t even have a popover pan, and look at how these turned out!

_MG_2474

They tasted as good as they look! I filled every other hole in a regular muffin tin, and my only disappointment is that I had enough batter left over for approximately one more popover.

Inspired, I decided I was up for a bit more of a mathematical challenge. This time, I was going to sourdoughize a non-sourdough recipe for Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Popovers. I turned to the trusty Cultures for Health conversion resource. Everything was going according to plan. I was eagerly anticipating a deliciously decadent breakfast treat. I put them in the oven and waited. I was overconfident. I trusted the recipe even when I was concerned the temperature was too low. Bad call. They didn’t rise for me. So sad. The pan full of batter had had such promise. Does sourdough baking require a hotter oven?

I’ll spare the visual-they looked like dense muffins with sunken holes in the middle. Andy claims they were delicious.  I’m looking forward to trying them again using The Gingered Whisk’s temperature and baking time, replicating the batter conversion below.

Sourdough Pumpkin Cinnamon Roll Popovers Batter Ingredient Conversions

Adapted from Doughmesstic

3T butter

3 Eggs

1/2C Milk

1/3C Pumpkin

<2T Brown Sugar

1/4t Cinnamon

1/4t Ground Ginger

Pinch Nutmeg

Pinch Salt

2t Vanilla

1/2C Starter

1C All Purpose Flour

Looking forward to seeing what flavor combinations others have tried!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Popovers

  1. SeattleDee says:

    Our sourdough popovers could be cousins… tasty but not very popped! Your flavorings sound delicious, definitely worthy of a second batch.

  2. Argh, I’ve had many popover fails myself. The cinnamon roll flavour sounds amazing, so I hope you can make it work!

  3. mtg101 says:

    Most of the recipes I’ve seen say 375f, but the recipe I have says 425f (then down to 325f after 15 minutes), but it’s a UK book and we’re not experts at popovers. Plus mine didn’t rise much either… Hopefully someone will have worked out what the secret is to make them pop and will let us all know!

  4. Kelster says:

    I had high hopes for that pumpkin cinnamon roll recipe. Now I am trying to remember if the popovers I made following the plain cinnamon roll version of that recipe popped.

  5. Shelley C says:

    Your first attempt looks awesome, I bet you’ll figure out the magic forumla and be able to make any flavor of sourdough popovers super soon! I am so inspired to try other flavors now!! Great job.

  6. I agree that making popovers is a great way to use up sourdough. The pumpkin cinnamon version sounds really good. I may have to test that one as well.

Leave a Reply

