Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Quickbread

Since starting to maintain a sourdough culture almost two years ago, I have made several quickbread and muffin recipes. They’ve all been fine.

I appreciate that this one specifies discard and encourages variations.

This sourdough zucchini bread turned out well, although I may try it at my oven’s 350 next time.

I’ve made this sourdough banana bread a few times, including this month, decreasing the amount of sugar, tweaking the types of flour and oil, and using discard starter.

20131015_133825

I have been intrigued by the magic of converting regular recipes to utilize sourdough starter, so I was grateful for the link to Cultures for Health that Sourdough Surprises posted for this month’s quickbread and muffin task that explains how to do just that.

For this month’s task, I decided to covert the Maple Walnut Bread from King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking.

20131009_080836

Yep. It looks a lot like the banana bread. And it tasted fine.

There are other muffins that I adore, like these coconut ones and these rhubarb ones, but I love them so much that I don’t want to change them at all. And then there are these carrot banana muffins that I may be the most in love with just the way they are because they have no added grain flour or sugar.

Out of all the sourdough quickbreads and muffins I’ve made, this one has been my favorite. Poppyseeds and almond flour. I just love the combination.

After being underwhelmed with so many of my sourdough quickbread and muffin attempts in the past, and even this month, I was thinking that this post may signal the end of this genre for me in the kitchen for a while. Now that I look back at the recipe for those Sourdough Poppyseed Muffins, I’m starting to notice some similarities to the non-sourdough Carrot Banana Muffins (honey, no sugar, almond flour), and I’m starting to feel a little spark of tinkering possibility. I may need to sleep on it before I do anything too crazy.

I’m also really looking forward to reading about what the other participants have made.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Quickbread

  1. SeattleDee says:

    I think an occasional quick bread is much better than an every-week loaf, unlike crusty sourdough yeast breads. That said, I would love to taste the poppyseed and almond flour loaf.

  2. Shelley C says:

    I go through peaks and valleys with it – I’ll go months of making lots and lots of muffins/quickbreads, then I won’t want to look at another muffin for a while… but they all look delicious and I’m glad you had the opportunity to play with some of the conventional recipes you enjoy and convert to sourdough. I bet you’ll find plenty of other yummy sourdough muffins to try really soon 🙂

  3. jojo54 says:

    Wow! You’ve got lots of recipes that sound great! thanks for sharing them!

  4. Sometimes the sourdough overpowers the other flavors. At least that’s what I’m finding. Maple Walnut sounds really good but so do those sourdough poppy seed muffins. I may have to try those. Yum!

  5. Maple walnut bread certainly *sounds* good – to bad it was underwhelming! The sourdough poppyseed almond flour muffins are really intriguing too. (Also, those rhubarb sturesel muffins from Smitten Kitchen are my all-time faves too! I’ve done them with lots of different fruit and they are always awesome.)

  6. pizzarossa says:

    I wonder if a rich, dark honey would work. Maple is hard to come by and very expensive in my town, as much as I love it.

    • The original recipe calls for 3.5oz sugar plus 5.5oz maple syrup. That’s a lot of sweetener overall AND a lot of maple syrup alone. I’m guessing honey would work, but my future attempts will go to less sweetener in the bread itself and more on top so I can enjoy every last gooey drop!

Leave a Reply

