B.E.L.T and some Quinoa for Good Measure

I love sandwiches.  Nothing makes me happier than having a great sandwich. 

My personal downfall is that I buy great sandwiches, I don’t make them.  I make myself a sandwich for lunch almost every day and it is always a sad, sad, little sandwich lacking in any sort of creativity.  It is always lunch meat, cheese, mustard, and boring.  I rarely make sandwiches for dinner for two reasons:  I don’t think my husband really likes sandwiches and all the sandwiches I make are boring.  September is going to change all that.

This week, we got half a pig.  That’s a lot of pig.  A LOT.  With that pig came some bacon.  Mmm.  Bacon.  We were also gifted some homegrown tomatoes from a neighbor and I had some farmer’s market greens in the fridge.  And two eggs.  A plan is made.

20130920_193327Local greens from the Tosa Farmer’s Market

20130920_193405Fresh homegrown tomatoes

20130920_193732Thick cut bacon from the local pig purchased at the Ozaukee County Fair

20130920_194024Finish it up with an over easy egg

20130920_194035This was one delicious sandwich.  A dinner hit.

And I am also keeping up my grain skills.  Who would have thought?  Quinoa salad with kalamata olives, cucumbers from the neighbor, and lemon garlic vinaigrette (left over from the bulgur).

20130920_194124Jamie hated the olives, but he can pick those out.  I thought it was good.

Acquisition and maintenance, what more can a girl ask for?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

