Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Waffles

This month’s Sourdough Surprises tasks were waffles and pancakes. Assuming that most of us who maintain a sourdough starter have made pancakes and/or waffles, the suggestion was to do something different to the standard fare.

IMG_1989

I did sort of the opposite. As I’ve mentioned before, I rarely make the same recipe twice, with a handful of exceptions. These waffles are one of those. I probably make these once a month, which possibly makes them the single most used recipe in our household. They are light and crispy and turn out well every time. Since I make them so often, I have made some tweaks (gasp! I have tweaked a recipe!) that I consistently rely on. Each time I pull up the recipe, I also convert the measurements to weights.

So, for easier reference for myself if nothing else, I have adapted the original recipe and am posting my own here. That’s right. Fade the Prompt’s first posted recipe.

Sourdough Waffles

Adapted from Gnowfglins

1/4C (56g) Coconut Oil, warmed to liquid

1/2t Salt

2 Eggs, the closer to room temperature the better to mix with the oil

Splash Maple Syrup

2T Ground Flax

1t Vanilla

1/2t Cinnamon

2C (460g) Sourdough Starter, discard or fed the evening before

1t Baking Soda mixed into 1 T Water

Plug in the waffle iron. The ingredients can be combined while the iron is heating.

Combine coconut oil, salt, eggs, maple syrup, ground flax, vanilla, and cinnamon. Stir until well combined. Pour the starter on top, and stir to incorporate. Pour baking soda/water mixture on top, and stir just to incorporate.

Pour batter on heated waffle iron and cook until golden. Keep warm in oven while the rest cook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Waffles

  1. These look great! Gotta love a properly crisp waffle.

  2. turnips 2 tangerines says:

    Great recipe:) I love a crispy waffle~ Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  3. Kelster says:

    I rarely make the same dessert twice. This has been a problem for my friends who want me to make chocolate cake (without any tweaks!) over and over again.

  4. Joan says:

    Crispy waffles are yummy!

  5. Rebecca says:

    I’ll have to try these – I can never seem to get my waffles to be crispy.

  6. Your waffles look so crispy and wonderful! Yum!

  7. Suz says:

    They look fantastic!

  8. Your waffles look great! 🙂

  9. Jessica says:

    Great recipe – nice job!

Leave a Reply

