Mmm. Bulgur.

I was not as successful with grains and vinaigrette month as I would have liked, but I was more successful than stir fry month.  I guess that’s something.

I tried out bulgur and it was not bad.  I was able to make 3 dishes using one batch.

First off was a salad for hurling.  I made a kale, radish, and bulgur salad.  I massaged the kale under cold water and sliced it thin.

20130825_120019The salad was dressed with a lemon garlic vinaigrette that I also made.  I added salt, pepper and some powdered jalapeno.  I am sorry to report that it was the only vinaigrette I made this month.  Oh, well.  At least I made one.   I usually put cottage cheese on my salad, so this was just not a priority for me.  Yes, cottage cheese with a little Nature’s Seasoning is an excellent salad topper.

This salad was fine.  Clara and her friend didn’t like it, but Calvin ate a whole bowl.  Good enough.

Now I had a lot of leftover bulgur.  I made another salad.

20130827_182911Grilled kale, roasted jalapeno, greens mix, bulgur, and grilled shrimp.  I marinated the shrimp in lemon juice, cayenne, oregano and olive oil.  The grilled kale and roasted jalapeno added a nice smokey flavor.  We dressed it with leftover vinaigrette.  I would make something similar to this again.

There was still more leftover bulgur.

20130829_195900This is a warm Mexican bulgur.  Roasted green pepper, roasted jalapeno, black beans, salsa, cilantro, and bulgur with cotija cheese.  I thought this one was delicious.  I ate what was left for lunch the next day.  (And I roasted all those pepper myself, thank you very much.)

While I did not experiment with a lot of different grains, I was able to be creative with what I did use to make a variety of dishes without a recipe.  This is a huge step in the right direction.

Sandwiches, here we come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

