Grains and Vinaigrette. Yum.

It’s August and that means it’s grains and vinaigrette.  It is hard to get excited about this, but I’m trying to muster more enthusiasm than I had for stir fry.

Vinaigrette is a made with a 3:1 ratio of oil to vinegar.  That’s the basics and then you can go from there.  If i can remember that ratio by the end of the month, I’ll feel like I accomplished something.

No one in my house is excited about grains.  However, I know that our diets could improve with a little more variety.  The Old Farmer’s Almanac gives cooking tips and suggestions for a wide variety of grains.

I got brave early in the month and tried quinoa.  I made a Mediterranean inspired salad with feta, kalamata olives, and cherry tomatoes.  I thought really hard about making my own Greek dressing.  Then I bought a bottle instead.

20130804_194936I liked it. Marisa seemed to like it.  Jamie hated it.  Oh, well, can’t please everyone.

My goals for the month:

1. Cook with 3 different kinds of grains.

2. Make 3 different kinds of vinaigrette.

We’re half way through August.  I better get on it.

This entry was posted in Technique of the Month and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

