Girls Can Grill

July was a busy month, but I found some time to grill.

I have a standard grilled potato that I learned from my mom and can make without a recipe.   Thin sliced potatoes, onions, butter, salt and pepper.  Layer in a pie plate, cover with foil and grill until done.  I make these all the time.  Each time I made them in July, I said “self, you’ll make these again, don’t worry about a picture this time.”  July is over.  I didn’t take a picture.

My husband gets really sick of these potatoes, so I tried to shake it up.

20130623_200215Diced potatoes, sour cream, cream of mushroom soup, nature’s seasoning, powdered jalapeno and cheddar cheese.  I mixed it all together, wrapped it in foil and threw it on the grill.  They were pretty good.

We went on vacation in July and I made some beautiful grilled chicken thighs with barbeque sauce.  They were picture perfect.  Too bad that my phone at the picture.  Stupid phone.  Trust me, they were something.

Jamie and I celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary with grilled steaks.  I took care of the meat and I think these were the best steaks we have ever made at home.

20130729_193815

They were marinated in olive oil, soy sauce and Montreal steak seasoning.  I started them right over the fire to get a nice sear on each side and then moved to a cooler part of the grill.  They were a solid medium when done.  Maybe even medium rare.  We never get them off in time, so this was a big deal.

We also were invited to a lovely little gathering at my father-in-law’s.  Usually his partner Bill does the grilling or my husband does.  This time they were busy and I stepped up to the plate.  We were cooking for 14 people.  That is a lot.  Good thing my father-in-law, Jody, has a big grill.

20130803_184431

The leg quarters were seasoned with Old Bay, the chops were seasoned with Carini’s seasoning, and the chicken breasts were marinated in whatever Jody had put them in before we got there.

20130803_190014Jody is an excellent no recipe cooker.  He is highly skilled at taking what ever is around and making it into something delicious.  I aspire to be able to whip things together like he does.  He also shared a helpful hint for cooking the leg quarters.  He put them in the microwave for 5 minutes before I put them on the grill.  I think this really helped with cooking them through without over cooking.

20130803_190005People were concerned.  There was much, “I thought Jamie was grilling.”  But I let them all know I could handle it.  And I did.  Everything turned out juicy and delicious.

Every month can be grilling month.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

