Here Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.

Searing month was pretty much a big fail for me.  I seared next to nothing.   Here’s what I did instead:

1. Had a birthday.

2. Went to the big Association for Behavior Analysis International convention.

3. Finished my final semester of graduate school.

I wanted to give searing a good send off.  A friend had sent me a video of Hank Shaw searing fish.  I can do this.   It looks easy.  I can put aside my unreasonable fear of cooking fish and do it.  Yes I can.

My fish fear actually starts before the cooking.  I also find buying fresh fish to be particularly terrifying.

I started at the local Farmer’s Market.  The lovely lady at the trout booth was very interested in my food blog and very sad that she was out of filets.  Maybe another day.

I thought “Self, go to the fancy grocery store.  They will be able to help you out.”

Self, I was wrong.  The people behind the counter at the Fresh Market were a bunch of morons.  They knew nothing about the fish and I don’t think they knew what searing even was.  Pick N Save it is.

I looked at the fish.  I know nothing about fish.  I had no grand illusions that the fish man would be helpful. I got ocean perch.  It had skin.  Hank’s fish had skin.  I can do this.

Canola oil, hot pan, salt only.  So far, so good.

20130601_194634

I had a bad feeling right after I put it in the pan.  Hank said to shake the pan.  His fish moved. Mine did not.  But I kept at it.  Pressed the fish down like he said.  And waited.  Keep it cooking until it moves when you shake it.  I shook.  Nothing.  Waited.  Cooked.  Shook again.  Nothing.  I could see the fish was cooking through.  Still no movement.  I had to turn it.  I couldn’t stop myself.

20130601_195418This is what fish that is not seared correctly looks like.  Oh well.  I did put butter in the pan and basted the fish.  We ate it.  Jamie said it was good.  I thought it was boring.

At least I seared something.  I bet I’ll do better with pizza.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here Fishy, Fishy, Fishy.

  1. Emily says:

    Ahh. See fish IS difficult. I thought if you could so if maybe I could. Could it be different pan? To hot? Not enough oil? Hey, if it was edible that’s pretty great.

  2. Jackie says:

    Salmon is easy…..skin side down + olive oil + garlic salt. If you don’t want to put it in the pan for “searing month” you can put it in the oven!

Leave a Reply

