It’s Been a Week.

This week, I turned 34.  It’s not a monumental age, just mid-30’s, but it hit me kinda hard.  I’ve always been a big lover of the birthday, but this year I was just not that into it.  All I can see is ALMOST 40 in neon lights.  Ack.  But I have a wonderful husband and great friends who all helped me focus on the most important thing about birthdays: food and presents.

The divine Miss Marisa not only makes her own yoghurt, but she is also a quilter, and I have been lucky enough to be the recipient of some of her creations.  For my birthday, she made me an amazing bag.  Not only will it be the perfect prize bag for a class I teach, it also has elements of many of the kids I have been lucky enough to interact with over the years.  It is the perfect present.  One more sangria, and I would have been bawling.

20130512_205209

20130512_205156To celebrate Christmas and my birthday, Marisa and I went to see Good vs. Evil: An Evening with Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert.  It was entertaining, funny and we got to listen to celebrity chefs gossip about other celebrity chefs.  A good time was had by all and it was good inspiration to keep up with cooking without recipes.

Oh yeah.  And I cooked some stuff.   Searing… okay.  I’ll sear some pork chops.  I had the best of intentions to get some really thick chops, stuff them, sear them and finish them in the oven.  But I didn’t.  I cooked them in a pan.  High heat.  That’s searing right?  I think it is.

20130512_195340

And I also finished up my final potato goal from April: pan fried potatoes.  They cooked through, but were not as crispy as I wanted them.   They were fine.

20130512_195253(1)

Goals for this month:

1. Steak

2. Fish

3. Scallops

We’ll see how all that goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

