Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Pasta

Since joining in on the Sourdough Surprises venture several months ago and looking back on the creations that I’d missed before discovering the group, I’d been longing to try my hand at pasta.  For the group’s one year anniversary, they returned to their roots!

Our oven has been broken for a while.  We have the luxury of a double oven, and the upper half broke in December.  We’d more than managed for a few months with the lower.  Then that one broke too.

Image

Rationally, I recognize that an oven is needed for neither pasta, potato chips, nor perogies.  At the same time, the premise of the creation of this blog, on my end at least, was an inability to work flexibly in the kitchen. So, for me, a broken oven = a broken kitchen.

Thanks to Andy and our firefighter/handyman friend, one of the ovens is fixed, and with a day to spare, pasta was made. Potatoes are another story.

I made two batches of pasta yesterday morning. One using this recipe exactly. The other with some modifications: whole wheat pasty flour and lemon and lime zest, a la this recipe.  The tip to use the mixer was genius and made the dough composition take what seemed like less than a minute.  After leaving the dough to do its thing for the day, I rolled it and cut it into linguine-fettuccine-esque strips and left it to sit for a bit.

Image

Julia arrived at this point, bearing ingredients for Greek salad (and wine!), disappointed that she had missed out on the pasta prep.  Knowing there was caramel making in our near future, I thought I’d get a head start on what I could.

The batch of whole wheat pasta ended up being just the right amount for our family of five.

Image

The other batch of uncooked pasta is now in the freezer. Can you do that?  You can freeze anything, right?

The caramel making was left to Julia, while I supervised from a couple of feet away.  My distance may be the key to making caramel because both Julia and Jill have done an incredible job on my stove with as little involvement from me as possible.  The caramel was then frozen, cut up, and added to these brownies. Good.  Choice.

Image

Dinner was tasty.

Dessert was delicious.

Watching the kids try to get a ball out of the flooded backyard pond was entertaining.

Following the events in Boston via a combination of electronic devices and later sitting in front of the TV watching the press conference and discussing where we were when…September 11, the Challenger, Oklahoma City, OJ, Columbine…and reminiscing about how long Andy, Julia, and I have know each other and how the Boston Marathon Bombing and subsequent events may just be our childrens’ first we-remember-where-we-were-when moment was the culmination of an evening that will not be forgotten.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Pasta

  1. Homemade pasta AND homemade salted caramel brownies? I think I’m in heaven.

    (And yes, fresh pasta is fine to freeze – just toss it in boiling water from frozen and cook it for a minute or two longer.)

  2. Rebecca says:

    Ok, now I need to go make some caramel too! I have frozen fresh pasta before and it works great. Good thing an oven wasn’t required for this challenge. I can’t imagine being without mine!

  3. Joan says:

    Whole wheat pasta – another variation I’ll have to try. Hope you get your stove fixed or replaced soon. I remember when mine died – cooking with an electric fry pan and microwave until it was replaced- yuk!

  4. Awesome! Your pasta looks like it turned out great! And I hope you get your oven fixed soon!

  5. Looks wonderful~ Hope your oven gets fixed soon…it’s always a pain in the you know where when your oven is broken. Lynn @ Turnip 2 Tangerines

  6. Suz says:

    Beautiful pasta, salted caramel brownies – that sounds like the perfect meal. 🙂

  7. rcakewalk says:

    Hey there! The element on my oven went out last year – in the middle of a loaf of bread – and I was absolutely panicky… I can totally relate! Your noodles look great too, and I’m glad you were able to get your ovens fixed and your kitchen back together 🙂

Leave a Reply

