Stir Frying and Sauteing Month was Fine. Better than Fine.

The highlight of stir fry month was definitely Irasian night with Julia. The velveting method stir fry turned out well, although it may have been more work than necessary if the meat is sliced really thin to begin with. The filling for the Shrimp, Pork, and Jicama Turnovers from Asian Dumplings by Andrea Nguyen was sauteed, so it totally qualifies. The Simple Flaky Pastry Crust was delightful, and I may turn every month into pie crust month. Couldn’t ask for better company than Julia. And drinking wine while Andy fried the dumplings and stir fried the stir fry was appreciated. I’m pretty sure it’s somewhere in the ABA literature that delegating is one of the most effective forms of prompt fading.

20130322_193305 20130322_185506

The Ir in Irasian came from the Stout Ice Cream with Irish Whiskey Caramel Sauce that I didn’t get around to making on St. Paddy’s Day proper. Thank you lady from the Village Market who very skeptically sold me the needed 1/4 cup of whiskey for said dessert. I’ve been able to purchase alcohol for 14 years. Scrutinize my ID and question me suspiciously anytime! According to Julia, “This is like the best thing I’ve ever tasted. And I would say that even if I weren’t still a little afraid of you right now.” Sorry. Caramel sauce makes me angry. It’s not hard to make. And I make it hard to make. And I don’t get it right the first time. And then I get fussy. And then others just want to help either so I’m not fussy anymore or just so that we all have caramel sauce. And then it all works out fine and it’s delicious. But the list of people who will make caramel sauce with me in the future is potentially dwindling.

20130322_213803 20130322_212540

Other March meals were satisfactory and unexciting. Nothing wrong with that. Overall, I definitely think my sauteeing times approached those the recipe suggested.

20130307_155909 20130323_164526

Sauteeing the components of this salsa made the house smell delicious, went quickly, and yielded the tastiest non-traditional salsa we’ve ever tasted. Reminiscent of Cempazuchi’s peanut salsa. A little burn your throat off, depending on spice tolerance. Worth it.

20130329_091703

Looking forward to potatoes. Chips and perogies are on the short list.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

