It’s Still February, Right?

I’m in denial.  It’s can’t actually be March.  There is still a ton of snow on the ground and it’s 20 degrees out.  Spring is never going to come.   So it must be February, and that means eggs.

We had a potluck breakfast at a work meeting this week and it seemed to be the perfect time to try out a strata and fulfill one of my February goals.  I could get it ready ahead of time and bake it during the meeting.  Super.

13 Steps to Making Strata, why thank you wikiHow, that is exactly what I needed.

1. Bread:  cheap white bread.  I let it sit out to get a little more stale.

2. Cheese:  cheddar.  Because I love it.

3. Veggies: mushrooms, green pepper and onions.  Sauteed (In honor of March.  I am getting much better.  High heat people.)

4. Meat: ham.  I love ham.

5. Custard:  6 eggs, 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup of half and half, salt and pepper.  I used the same basic idea as the quiche mixture.

I got everything ready the night before and let it sit and soak overnight.  Brought it to room temperature in the backseat of my car as I drove to work and then popped it in the oven.  350 degrees for about 45 minutes.

20130320_092753

Strata success.  It was delicious and I received a lot of positive feedback.  One of my co-workers, Jo, asked for the recipe.  I told her there was no recipe and happily directed her to wikiHow.  She was not amused by my smug attitude.  Sorry, Jo!  Hopefully this post helps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

