Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Flatbread

I was so excited for this month’s task that I think I baked my first batch on the day it was announced. My Kitchen Addiction’s Sourdough Naan was delicious with hummus and turned into a great to-go meal for dance night transport. I was so excited by how delicious that first batch was that I started making plans to make as many of the Sourdough Surprises’ Pinterest flatbread options as I could before February 20th. And then I would make my favorite again to be photographed. They were so easy! Some required a bit of planning to account for the soaking time. No problem.

Ohmygosh. It’s February 19th, and I need to get some flatbread made and photographed. I never made it past the Sourdough Naan. The starter can be mixed STRAIGHT FROM THE FRIDGE! The ingredients are always on hand. And did I mention it’s delicious? Soft, chewy, and slightly tangy. I made minimal modifications: I let it rest on the counter (and there was nothing warm about that location), I rolled it out quite a bit thinner than 1/4 inch, and I didn’t cover the cast iron skillet.

Image

I bet I will get back to some of the others, especially this one. Tuesday and Thursday are portable dinner nights, and I struggle with ideas each week. If I learned anything in Roasting January and Eggy February, I should be able to roast some veggies, scramble some eggs, throw it in some flatbread, and call it dinner. Or hard boil some eggs and mix them with some nicoise salady components. Maybe I could stray from roasting and eggs with tahini dressing, feta, and chopped veggies. And that Smitten Kitchen Smashed Chickpea Salad would work well too. For Pete’s sake, these ideas would have been so helpful anytime between January 23 and February 18.

Speaking of hard boiled eggs. If anyone has struggled with the perfect technique for hard boiling so that the peel comes off easily, I think I’ve figured it out. Peel it first. As in crack it in a bowl and poach it. Here’s the tricky part-in order to hard boil the egg instead of poach it, you’ll have to somehow mess up suggestions from Alton Brown. How is that possible? It’s a special talent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Flatbread

  1. Awesome naan, Marissa! I used the same recipe and loved the results, too! So easy and SO delicious! Thanks for baking with us again this month!!

  2. I also used this recipe and I loved it! Easy and delicious~ See you next month:) Lynn

  3. I had my eye on that naan recipe too – I’m glad to hear it’s so good! I will have to give it a try. PS, great hard boiled egg tip 😉

  4. Kelster says:

    Love the naan! I made my tortillas a couple days after the announcement too!

  5. jojo54 says:

    Seems like a lot of people tried the naan. I preferred the tortillas but I think that was because I am more familiar with them.

  6. Pingback: Marisa’s Egg Recap | fadetheprompt

  7. rcakewalk says:

    I’m going to try the naan this week hopefully – I made a double amount of the best chickpeas ever (according to Alton Brown, via my neighbor who made it a few weeks ago… I froze the chickpeas so I can whip up the hummus quickly when I feel like it! (Google: alton brown hummus for real and it pops right up, I soaked the chickpeas overnight, and they cooked in a low crockpot in about 6 hours – perfect!) Nice work – hope to see you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

