It’s Like a Quiche Without the Crust

Tonight, I decided to make a frittata.  I have never made one before.  We have had them for dinner many times, but Jamie has always made them following a Skinnytaste recipe, with strict instructions to not deviate from the recipe.  This time, I was going to do it myself and I was not going to use a recipe.

Simply Cooking gives a nice explanation of the frittata basics and I used that as a guide.

I decided to go a Mediterranean route.  First, I sauteed red pepper, mushrooms and spinach. Then I whisked together 3 egg whites, four whole eggs and a dash of cream.  Salt, pepper, dried oregano and a little bit of crushed red pepper for flavor.   Oh, and some feta.   I love feta. 20130211_203124

I did a little stir/scramble until the eggs started to set.  Then I popped it in a 350 degree oven.  Eight minutes later and we were ready to go.

20130211_204245

(I know it doesn’t look very different, but I promise this is the baked one.)

Jamie wasn’t sure if it was set in the middle.  “Sure it is,” I said as I grabbed the handle of the pan to pick it up and show him.  Silly me.  That handle was a touch warm.  5 minutes running my hand under cold water and I seem to have recovered. (Well, it still stings a little, but I’m tough.)

I think it turned out well.  Jamie even liked it and he is not a feta fan.  Overall, a success.

Things I learned:

1. It never ceases to amaze me how spinach cooks down to nothing.

2. I think I need a little smaller pan.  I would like my frittata to be a little thicker.

3. Always use a hot pad when picking up the pan that was in the oven.  It’s hot.

4. Frittatas are good, but not as good a quiche.

I think I really like egg month.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Like a Quiche Without the Crust

  1. Emily says:

    oh yummy! I like. I love a fast meal too for nights when I work late. I bet Ken could make this too!

Leave a Reply

