Don’t Over Fill the Crust.

Last night, I decided to make a quiche.   I wanted to start the month off with an egg dish I have never attempted and something that was a little more substantial than just a scramble.  So quiche it was.

How to Make a Foolproof Quiche (This is right up my alley)

1. Blind-bake the crust.   (I used a frozen crust.  Deep dish. It’s egg month, not pastry month.  I don’t know how to make a crust, and I didn’t want to learn last night.  I followed the directions on the package to poke it a bunch with a fork and bake it.  It worked perfectly.)

2. Prepare the filling.
(I decided to go with spinach, ham and cheddar.  I had gotten some diced ham from the grocery store (its so much easier. sue me) so I heated that up to get rid of some of the moisture and the wilted my spinach in the same pan.  I layered it in the crust: cheese, other stuff, cheese.)

3. Prepare the custard filling. (I used 4 eggs, 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup of cream, salt, dried parsley and onion powder.  No problems here.)

4. Bake the quiche.

20130202_194422

Look!  It’s beautiful!

It’s brown on the edges.  That’s good.  It’s supposed to not be totally set in the middle.  It’s not totally set in the middle.  Oh wait, it’s not set at all in the middle.  Back in the oven.   I was a little worried about the crust getting burnt.  So I wrapped the edges in foil (I know, who is this girl?  I have no idea how I even knew to do that), and then back in the oven.  10 more minutes I said.  Then 10 more minutes I said.  10 more minutes.  Now we’re up to 60 minutes on this thing and the middle is still a swimming pool.  Forget it.  We’re eating the outside.  So I cut two pieces along the crust and put the rest of the thing in the oven.

We ate the edges.  They were fantastic.  And after another 20 minutes, everything was set.  And it was fantastic.  We are now quiche converts.  Super easy and super delicious.

Things I learned:

1. Don’t let crust hold you back.  Frozen is just fine.

2. Make sure your fillings are really dry.

3. Don’t use too many fillings or the thing will never set.

4. I love quiche.

This was an excellent start to egg month, but I have some other goals.

1. Poach.

2. Hollandaise.

3. The perfect scramble.

4. The perfect fried egg.

5. Stratta.

6. More dinner eggs.

Watch out chickens, here we come!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Over Fill the Crust.

  1. Emily says:

    I have no problem coming over to taste your strata!

  2. Pingback: Marisa’s Egg Recap | fadetheprompt

Leave a Reply

