Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Brownies

I love baking and cooking with my sourdough starter. Just not bread.

Over the past day and a half, I attempted to make an actual loaf of sourdough bread. Probably along the lines of a boule. In theory. Hot mess. Dense and flat. No post-oven crackling. No beautiful airy holes.

My starter is beautiful. Bubbly and resilient. The transition from starter to baked freeform loaf requires skill. And tinkering. And patience. And repeated trials in the quest to perfect. I’ll leave that to the experts. Those Cedarburg experts do an outstanding job, and I’m grateful they’re closeish.

Thank goodness for Sourdough Suprises. And brownies.

IMG_2117

I made two batches this month. I enjoyed them both. Neither pan’s contents disappeared as quickly as last month’s Smitten Kitchen Caramel Brownies. I may try to sourdoughize those in the future. Although my favorite brownies are gooey and fudgy. My guess is the flour from the starter is fighting the fudge factor?

In the past hour, we’ve discovered that our hot water heater is about ready to explode. I thought cooking without an oven was a challenge. I’ve dirtied a good portion of our dishes today and currently have no easy means to clean them. As soon as this batch of bagels is done, I’m walking away from the kitchen for the day.

Deep breaths. A botched loaf of bread and a broken water heater. Frustrating. Not a catastrophe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Marisa’s 20th of the Month Sourdough Sidetrack: Brownies

  1. Shelley C says:

    Oh goodness – a broken hot water heater plus a sink full of dishes is not a great combination, but the results make the hassle well worth it. Your brownies look delicious!

  2. SeattleDee says:

    OMG, you sound remarkably calm for such a challenging time! Kick back, ignore the dishes, eat chocolate… or consider a strong beverage.

  3. Joan says:

    Your brownies look great! Yuk! A broken water heater – not fun!

  4. Yikes, good luck with the hot water heater! I used the same brownie recipe and mine came out pretty fudgy – funny how the same recipe can give such different results! Your brownies still look mighty tasty though :)

  5. Oh no, so sorry about the water heater. Hope you don’t have to live with the problem for too long. The brownies look delicious though.

  6. Boo on the broken water heater!! We had that happen a few months ago and the dirty dishes piled up SOOO fast! BUT your brownies look great! And don’t be discouraged about the bread – it takes some practice but you’ll get it! Start with an easier recipe (some get so darn technical!) and keep trying different things to find what works for you!

  7. Rebecca says:

    Well, chocolate is good in a crisis! I make sourdough brownies a lot and they do come out fudgy, but I always make sure to slightly underbake them.

  8. pizzarossa says:

    I hope your week improved, but the brownies look wonderful and I’m sure they provided some much need comfort :)

Leave a Reply

